top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePodcast Collab

Feelin’ A Little Funky?!




Howdy peeps! How are things? I don’t know about your part of the world, but in mine, I am tired of the rain! I’m in the mood for some much-needed sunshine. I’m ready to get the yellow particle of light back in the sky for good…To be honest, the weather has been making me blah. I miss my smell of fresh air and walks in the park. Heck, I miss cutting grass. Who’s with me? And the birds chirping…that’s a bonus!


That being said, this is why I wanted to focus on how to get out of the case of the blues, blahs, whatever you wanna call ‘em. Because it’s no fun when you feel all doom and gloom ya know I mean jellybean?

So what can ya do to get out of the mood swings, those moments where you feel not so perky, those times where you wake up on the wrong side of the bed, or the instances where you’re angry for no reason?

Here are my 5 tips to help ya along the way:


First, recognize the problem.

This may sound simple, but often we are not even aware of our actions/emotions until others tell us how we’re acting. When everything starts seeming the same, you feel unfulfilled, or you want to change and don’t know how, start by realizing that there’s something more to the story. If you can’t figure it out…. please ask someone to talk it out with you.


Second, don’t criticize your feelings.

Not everyone’s emotions are the same, and that’s A-OK! Can you imagine if we all cried or screamed about the same stuff? Instead of bashing your reactions, be real with yourself and understand our frame of mind can be changed. Be realistic but do not beat yourself up over every little thing. (Example: Not getting laundry done, dinner on the table, and your kids sent to soccer practice on time). You’re human…be gentle with your feelings.


Third, practice more self-care.

Even the small things that we do daily for ourselves can be overlooked. How do you self-care? Perhaps it’s drinking that second cup of coffee (by yourself) before everyone wakes up. Maybe it’s meditating a little longer, buying a new dress, etc. Making and taking the time to self-love, self-care, and show self-compassion works wonders on the mind, body, and spirit.


Fourth, change up a routine (or two).

Branching out of your comfort zone may seem scary, crazy, or darn right stupid, but it will make a difference to get you out of your slump! Strike up a new conversation, do something NOT pre-planned, do an activity you truly enjoy. (Painting anyone?) Be a kid, get giddy, and be creative. Do what you love to do!


Fifth, find a sense of purpose.

Recognize YOU matter. It’s easy to fall into a rut when you feel like everything you do doesn’t have meaning. But you do have meaning! You always have meaning. Write out your career goals, your personal goals, or even a dinner goal. Schedule time to realize having something to look forward with help boost that mood into high-gear!


There are tons more tips, tricks, and solutions to ease and please. But start with these 5, see how they work (or don’t work) for you. Let me know some feedback.


I’ve had to use these this week for myself in some form or fashion. And I’m sure I will have to use them again, but that’s life. Sometimes you’re the windshield, sometimes you’re the bug. (Song reference). But seriously….


Remember to squash perfectionism in its tracks! Instead of trying to make everything around you perfect, appear perfect, or be perfect, do the best you can. Do the best you can. Yes it can be frustrating to be feelin a little funky, but this too shall pass.


Any more questions? Let me know….I offer stress management in my Intuitively You Program.



Sending you love and light,

Kayla

5 views0 comments
bottom of page